Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I'm a high school student that has played alto for four years and tenor for two, and I'm now looking into buying a soprano sax.

I've got it narrowed down to either the Kessler Custom KCS2, or the Antigua SS3286BQ. From what I've read they are both excellent for beginners to the soprano.

Here's the problem: I've never played soprano before, and I don't know anyone who does. Worse, to buy a soprano, I'll have to sell my Selmer Aristocrat AS600, so if I buy one there's no going back.

I plan on ordering from Dave Kessler, BTW.

·
Banned
3,000 Posts
If you don't have another horn to play, I wouldn't do it. You might not like the soprano.

If you do have another alto or tenor, then I would sell the AS600 and buy the Antigua.

·
Registered
495 Posts
If you don't have another horn to play, I wouldn't do it. You might not like the soprano.
I agree. Try a soprano first. Compared to an alto, it is a completely different beast. My advice to soprano beginners is to start practicing in an empty house, because it is going to sound awful. I gave that advice to another soprano beginner and he took it - but had forgotten that his dog was at home. The dog immediately started to scratch at the door - "let me out!"

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
41,667 Posts
yes as the other folks said, try it first, and there is a good chance that you will find it difficult and different form your alto. I had been thinking for a long time that the a soprano was not for me and everybody told me that , also I attempted to manage learning soprano, alto, tenor and the occasional baritone (that is a struggle).