Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I'm going to be putting my horn on the market soon, and I have no experience selling. Before putting my sax up for sale, I'd like to make sure I do all the right things and go about this the smart way. Can anybody give me good advice on doing so? I'm a poor college student, and I'm sure I want it to be local pickup only. I know I won't have a problem selling it, but I'm not exactly sure how to do this and I want to make sure I don't get taken advantage of! Should I make a contract? Should there be a specific way of payment? What is a reasonable standard for payment? I know my horn isn't cheap, but I wonder if it would be hard to sell as a cash/check payment only. Like I said, I have no experience in selling.

Also, people tell me I should use ebay, but I'm completely unfamiliar with it and I don't want to ship. Somebody also told me I should post on craigslist. I'll also be putting up posters in the music building at school.

So, advice? What to avoid, how to make sure this is done safely?

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Carbs said:
If you are in Denton, I would suggest putting it for sale in Denton Music Store on Consignment. He'll take a percentage. PM me if you want the directions to the store.
Their are some idea's on what to do if you want to sell here.
http://forum.saxontheweb.net/showthread.php?t=65238
Craigslist is a good option. I would say cash. Cash doesn't bounce checks do.

~Carbs

Man, you're quick =)

thanks, I'll try looking into that. Might be hard though, considering I don't have a car. I've actually been meaning to check the place out, but alas I can't google map it =(

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
34,046 Posts
I would suggest letting the person try the horn in a practice room on campus if that is available. Then you won't be compromised with having a stranger in your home.