Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a hobbyist trying to repair/restore an old NWII Alto I bought off of Craigslist. I ran into a few issues that I have hoping to gain some advice on:

1) Where can I find replacement pivot screws? From searching other threads, I know Ferree's has the tiny locking screws (C47). I am looking for the pivot screws themselves, or something else that would work. If you have the part number for this for Ferree's that would be great!

IMG_20211022_151031768.jpg

2) The octave mechanism on the neck has been snapped in half, and the bottom portion with the ring is missing. What remains is the portion just after the posts on the neck. Any ideas on a suitable replacement or how to fabricate something that would work?

Automotive exhaust Auto part Automotive exterior Nickel Metal

3) I've been able to remove most of the keys, but a few still remain stuck (side Bb, side C, octave key, and all are hinge rods). I've been using WD-40 on it over a course of days, as well as some home made penetrating oil (mix of automatic transmission fluid and acetone). No luck so far. Any tips or other products I can try.

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

Attachments

·
Registered
35 Posts
The pivot screw threads are usually 4-40 on Conn horns. They can be fabricated from 4-40 machine screws and a lathe. They are actually pretty easy to make. I had to make a few for my bass. Screws can be slotted with a jeweler's saw.

·
Forum Contributor 2015-2017
4,124 Posts
Heat is good too!
Irony: I am restoring a NWII at this very moment. Stuck pivot screws, frozen roller rods, janky springs, etc. just those durn rollers and one spring left until all that’s left is normal installation. It has been LENGTHY.
So hang in there!

·
Registered
3,674 Posts