Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I'm knew here on the SOTW forums, so I thought I might as well ask a question to kind of break the ice so to speak..

I'm looking for a reed that can help darken my tone a little bit, however I know the mouthpiece has more to do with your tone than the reed does. Currently I play on a metal Otto Link Tonemaster Series (6), on a Selmer Mark VI tenor with Vandoren Java reeds (3's). The Javas play nice and I really dig their responsiveness, but I don't really care for how edgy and bright my tone gets. I thought about just slapping on one of my classical reeds and calling it hunky dory, but it just seems blasphemous to play on a jazz mouthpiece with classical reeds.. :mrgreen:. Was wondering if anyone had some insight? Thanks in advance!

-Tanner.

Ps: Please keep in mind I'll be a high school senior this fall, and while I've been playing sax for almost 6 years, I've only as of two years ago started to delve into the more technical aspect of the instrument, so I apologize if I come off as a bit noobish.. [rolleyes]

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,936 Posts
"Classical" and "jazz" are mostly marketing descriptions. I remember when you just either bought Rico or Vandoren. No genre labels applied to the reeds.

·
Registered
260 Posts
First, welcome to the forums. You can also try different reeds like Gonzalez, Zonda, Alexanders to get different tones.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Finding the right reed may be more critical to your sound than you think. I agree with the others - find the reed that works for you and disregard all the marketing hype that reed-makers put on their boxes, inserts, and web-sites. Good tone is good tone regardless of the type of music one plays.