Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I've been playing the saxophone on and off for almost ten years now (the first four of those I had tutoring but only up to Grade Five standard). I learnt all I knew on my Alto - a Jupiter 767 Student Model - and its taken a few whacks in its day. Now I've started taking lessons again I'm seriously considering a new Alto.

I'm not looking to go into music professionally, however I do love to play. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks!

Edit: probably a good idea to give you a price range eh? Well I'm looking to spend £2000 at the most but again, any advice is welcomed!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,986 Posts
Probably a good idea to give more info also.....:bluewink:

What kinda music do you want to play ? What contexts would you be playing in (large bands, marching bands, small ensembles, electric bands, acoustic bands, lead horn, horn section, wooing a sweetie by standing below the window in the garden whilst playing smooooooth, romantic ballads....etc.) ?

Do you have any favorite players ?

That sorta stuff would help narrow the field a bit.

For that sort of budget, you can easily land a professional instrument, BTW.....

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi! My apologies for the late reply, I've had a hectic couple of weeks! I'm afraid I'm not going to be very helpful though.

Generally speaking I'd like to play everything. However I'd be most likely playing alongside an electric band, probably in a ska band. However a groovy guy I know has a fondness for a lot of crazy stuff so I might be able to convince him into trying some new ideas...