Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I'm looking for a little help on what to do with this saxophone I found among my father's things after he died. To my knowledge, he never played the sax, and neither do I.

It's an Indiana by Martin.

Serial number is 47762, which if I'm reading the internet right means it was made in 1924.
View attachment 238032
View attachment 238034

I'm no expert, but I don't think it's in playable condition. There's a dent, a soldered bit is loose, and one of the ... things... doesn't close after you remove your finger from the ... thing. (I know so much about saxophones!)
View attachment 238036

View attachment 238038

View attachment 238040

Also, the case has an intensely musty smell that spraying alternately with vinegar, vodka, and fabreeze didn't cure.

So, what should I do with this sax? As far as I'm concerned, it's something pretty to hang on a wall. Is it the kind of sax I'd be slapped for doing that with? I can't imagine it would be cheap to repair, but maybe it's worth it.

Whatever advice you have, I will welcome. Thanks!

·
Registered
157 Posts
Well, for sure that poor sax needs a lot of work. I’d put it up for sale on Craigslist for $100 as a parts horn and see if anyone bites. It seems to be a good project for an aspiring repair person. It is, after all, repairable. The serial number for this Martin Indiana indicates it was manufactured in 1953.

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
It's a "student" horn of reasonable quality.

First question, is the neck there (the L shaped separate piece)? That will totally drive sales value. With it, you have a horn that needs some work to be playable; without it you have a collection of parts.