Sax on the Web Forum banner

Adult Saxophone Group

5K views 21 replies 15 participants last post by  tenorcat 
#1 ·
Hi All,

I am new in the Saxophone world. I have just learned how to play Sax for about 8 months, and I have a lot of fun.
I just wonder if it is common in the Sax community to have a Sax Group. Other than Sax, I play piano and I belong to several Piano Groups.
I am looking for a Sax group.

How about adult Sax competition, do we have that kind of competition?

Ron

Discussion starter · #13 ·
Competing is not a bad idea. I compete in several amateur piano competitions. It is a way for me to force myself to practice diligently and smartly. In addition, it also makes me keep taking a lesson. Without taking lesson people at my level will not improve consistently. When I just joined this adult piano group, I was more at the bottom level of the group. Most the members do not take lesson and afraid of entering competition (for any reason), I am the few one who keeps competing and taking lesson. Now, after 7 years, I am the best pianist among those original people who joined the group. Therefore, I am a big proponent of performing infront of people, taking lesson, and competing. Once I can play Saxophone well enough, I will form an amateur Saxophone group like what I did with piano. I am guessing it will be more difficult to form. Because it will be less people playing Saxophone seriously. There are so many serious adult pianists.

This coming Dec, I will perform at my teacher's 1st student recital. I forced him to do student recital. Of course, I helped to organize the event. It appears most of Saxophone teachers are also not into having student recitals. It is not like piano teachers who are usually very into having student recitals. Most Saxophone teachers are males, and to be honest, males are usually lazy to organize thing. I am not surprised about this.

Discussion starter · #19 ·