Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing my Antigua 590 soprano since 2004, and I've finally run up against a bit of a technical limitation:
View attachment 239538

It's from Philip Glass' Violin Concerto No. 1, arranged for soprano by Amy Dickson. When trying to move from B to front E a couple things tend to happen: I either pinch my finger between the front F and the B key, and/or I can't press the key fast enough and the note doesn't speak. It's a very uncomfortable, unreliable transition. I've tried adjusting the angle and height of the key, and adjusting its position in relation to the B key, but I still can't make the transition with fluidity. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to improve this?

Here's the key:
View attachment 239540 View attachment 239542

Looking at some current production horns, the front-F key on the Yanagisawa WO is flatter, the Yamaha is contoured around the top of the B key, and the Rampone slopes down below the height of the B key touch when closed. Would replacing the key with something shaped more like one of these improve performance? Is there something I can do to the stock key?

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,018 Posts
Going from first finger B to the front F key is problematic regardless of the shape of the key. The possibility of "rolling" the first finger to open the key as is done on a clarinet A key is not an option due to the fact that LH 2,3 must go down at the same time and those fingers will want to go up with the rolling back of the first finger. I would suggest using the palm key fingering and get it as fast as possible.

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
Yep. B to front F is the wrong choice for a fast passage like this and is never going to work. You've got to use palm keys.

·
Registered
5,241 Posts