Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all,

I first saw the Vandoren reed strength comparison chart in a store. I was surprised to see what it shows, though. I'm an inexperienced alto student, but I have decent knowledge of physics and a longtime experience with music, despite my beginner level on sax.

I have an ebonite mouthpiece. The instrument is a rental. It came with (I think, probably an entry-level Selmer) ebonite mouthpiece. It's too worn to see the brand.

A Standard Vandoren "Blue" 2 1/2 is what I've been practicing on for months. I also bought some ZZ and V21 a while back, just to explore. What my initial surprise about the chart is, to me when I play the ZZ, it feels to me like a 3, or at least, harder than the other 2 1/2. The V21 is also more like a 3. I go back and forth and feel like the non-standard reeds are both much harder to get a note on. Yet the chart looks like it's saying the a 2 1/2 ZZ is equivalent to a 2 Blue.

What do you folks think?

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
Welcome to SOTW!

Reed charts are often pretty inaccurate because they don't take the mouthpiece into account. I'm guessing this is what's happening: on your specific mouthpiece, certain reeds "fit" better, and so they're more free-blowing. Not to say you can't play a different reed, but you'll need to account for how it fits the mouthpiece with a change in strength.

·
Registered
90 Posts
They also don't (generally) take into account which sax you're playing - relative strengths for soprano, alto, tenor, etc. are different.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #4