Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may have been a thread already but after a search, I didn't see it. I'd like to know how you know when it's time to try a 3 when you've been playing on a 2 1/2 and also does the tightness of the embouchure change and require more strength? I ask because I bought a bunch of different reeds. This is probably a distraction, since I am just learning, but I yearn to feel that I have the best reed and strength. I like the Legères, but have cane from Rico, Vandoren blue and some black coated Plasticovers. I also bought a Vandoren 3. My theory is to play through them over a two hour session, then at the end do a few minutes a day with the 3 as an exercise. Is this a positive or negative value in your opinions? My feeling is that it's harder to produce a note on the 3, but tightening the mouth seems to make it easier.

Should the mouth muscles change in effort with a stronger reed, or is it just a matter of breath?

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,210 Posts
Yes, the harder reed requires more effort with the mouth muscles and more breath on your current mouthpiece.
Trying different brands, cuts, strengths is fun. BUT... As a beginner it's usually best to stay with a brand and strength that does NOT cause you to use extra pressure. That only leads to a bad habit called biting.
If the 2.5's are working for good tone, articulation, and comfortable mouth muscles (it's called your embouchure) stay with them.

·
SOTW Columnist, Distinguished SOTW Member
23,019 Posts
... As a beginner it's usually best to stay with a brand and strength that does NOT cause you to use extra pressure. That only leads to a bad habit called biting.

If the 2.5's are working for good tone, articulation, and comfortable mouth muscles (it's called your embouchure) stay with them.