Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a beginner I thought I would start off with a low cost clarinet and if I like the instrument I can move to an up price Yamaha like my different saxes. I notice that even with the barrel, MPC etc. pushed right in the clarinet still plays as shown on the meter very, very flat. I thought this was my embouchure but on trying another clarinet I found it to be spot on. Is this normal for lower cost clarinets and is the only solution scrapping or buying a shorter barrel.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,081 Posts
Ronish said:
I notice that even with the barrel, MPC etc. pushed right in the clarinet still plays as shown on the meter very, very flat. I thought this was my embouchure but on trying another clarinet I found it to be spot on. Is this normal for lower cost clarinets and is the only solution scrapping or buying a shorter barrel.
Did you use the same mouthpiece/reed? What note(s) did you measure against? It is, btw, not the normal behaviour for lower cost clarinets; "student class" apparatuses tend to play sharp in order to compensate for the underdeveloped embouchure.

Clarinets play flatter when cold. Mine plays A=440 when cold and creeps up to A=442 (what we're playing here) when at operating temperature.

Just out of curiosity - what setup are you using?

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician
3,112 Posts
Using a shorter barrel (or having one shortened) that's much shorter than the manufacurer specifies will only cause intonation problems with the clarinet.

The best thing to do is get a good mouthpiece and play on the stock barrel that comes with a clarinet from a reputable make - this way you'll build up your chops and you'll be playing in tune soon enough through practice.

·
Banned
5,336 Posts