Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys,
I am new to the world of saxophones. I am in love with this instrument. Love its sound and style. Really beautiful; brings tears to my eyes listning to some classical songs played with the sax.

Love this forum. Have learnt loads just roaming through the threads. I finally registered because I am facing a problem, a problem that I didnt see any threads on, and so here it is.

Okay, most beginner Sax players have problems playing the higher notes. It usually comes out as a squeak. But mine is the opposite. My B and C (high) come out about an octave lower. So, the C after the middle C (middle Eb on a piano) sounds like the middle C itself. So it is like playing Doe Ray Me Fa So La Tee Doe, with the last Doe sounding like the first Doe. Even the Tee sounds one octave lower sometimes.

Let me get some things out of the field. I dont have any leaks, really positive about that. And also, when I play the whole octave at once, going fro Doe to the next Doe, it comes out right. But whenever I try to, say, start a song with Tee or the high Doe, I get that darn low note.

So, what do you guys think? What could be the reason? I hope (this might sound funny) that it is my embouchoure's and not the sax that is at fault. I just want someone to reassure me that it happens with others too, and that I am not the only one who has had this problem. I, myself, think that it is my emouchoure, mainly beacuse I get the correct note out when I play continiously from low to high.

Thanks in advance for any replies. Looking foward to them.

·
Registered
494 Posts
I'd get the horn check-up before you learn to play first, so you it's not as painful. See how that works!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2009
3,204 Posts
Two possibilities :