Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
380 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear friends,

I have been playing only for about ten years now, and mainly as a hobby. In fact, I played exclusively for friends at wedding receptions, church banquets, and extravagant birthday parties, but only for friends, believe it or not. I have used these opportunities to build my repertoire, find out what equipment I needed, and work off stage fright, until I got good enough, and had a big enough repertoire, to start charging money.

Now that I am approaching that stage, I need some advice. Assuming the old-fashioned way of acquring customers by word of mouth and advertising, as opposed to online booking services, and assuming a situation of sitting down and signing a written contract, for the sake of simplicity:

1. What exactly is the process that you go through with a new customer, regarding anything said that does not specifically appear in the contract, from the initial conversation to the end of the gig and final payment?

2. What exactly does your contract say? Can you please block out any sensitive information, and upload a sample of your own typical contract, or else direct me online to a perfect sample somewhere?

3. How soon must he pay the deposit?

4. Do you give a written receipt for his deposit? Can you upload a sample of what it says?

5. When exactly does he pay the balance due? On the day of the gig? Do you give him a written receipt on the day that you finish the gig, after he pays the balance? What does that one look like?

6. What are the typical terms for when the saxophonist himself cancels, just two weeks before the event contracted six months earlier?