Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok here is my review of my new Simba Sax.
There is one Disclaimer. I am new on sax.
However I have played bass many years and I am an accomplished musician.
That being said here goes.

****I AM A BEGINER AND THIS IS A REVIEW FROM A BEGINER. PLEASE READ ALL POST HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION. IT IS STRONGLY RECOMENDED YOU NOT BUY A SAX LIKE THIS WITHOUT TEST PLAY FIRST.******

PROS:
1) Cost a hundred bucks used and came with a brand new metal guy hawkins #8
2) looks nice
3) a very nice hard case was included.
4) Has a pretty decent tone
5) no sticky keys or leaky pads that I can tell
6) plays FAIRLY well in tune. Not perfect
7) did I mention it was a hundred bucks?

Cons:
1) Not a Selmer, Yamaha, Yani, ETC
2) Does not have perfect intonation or tune. However it is close.
3) I have a hard time with low notes specifically g-c. However I seriously doubt that is the sax. It is probably me. I can hit them if I try but if I am just playing they jump up an octave. In a week I have my first sax lesson and I will know if it is me or the horn. But I can say with 99% certainty now it IS ME NOT THE HORN.

Anyways that is my 2 cents. I cant compare it to other saxes becouse it is the first one I can play. However I know music and instruments and I can say it seems well put together.

If I could do it again however, I would but a yamaha YTS23 used on ebay for 300. but hey:D

·
Registered
881 Posts
You did not mention among the "pro" points that it has a very cool name. Simba means lion in kiswahili, but you probably knew that... Now, if it was made in "swahili-land" (East Africa), that would have been even cooler (I mean hotter...), but some googling told me that it is made in US, Tennesee??

Bjorn

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
25,998 Posts
New On Sax said:
There is one Disclaimer. I am new on sax.