Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ladies and Gentlemen,

After 20 years waiting for a chance ($$$ and Time):mrgreen:.I finally got my first sax which is a BW Soprano (Bronze).

Well,I have to study by myself since I work offshore in a monthly rotation. I have had 4 classes so far with a teacher and I also learned a lot reading in the internet...

I Have ordered few books in the amazon: The Complete Saxophone Player ,Saxophone Manual: The step-by-step guide to set-up, care and maintenance,Learn as You Play Saxophone: Tutor Book (Learn as You Play Series),101 Saxophone Tips: Stuff All the Pros Know and Use, Tipbook Saxophone: The Complete Guide,Absolute Beginners: Alto Saxophone,The art of Saxophone playing,Developing a personal saxophone sound...All these books are in the way now.Maybe is too much material for reading but I'm eager to learn and play something reasonable in a short period...I'm already playing the introduction notes for the summertime.

What I'd like is a guide program for study step by step from the very beginning, daily exercises,etc... I'm also studying music theory at the same time and still getting along with the music score.

Any help from You people is very welcome!

Thanks & regards,

Carlos.

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2017
735 Posts
Hi Carlos,
I am only a beginner but I have found that having a teacher is a big help especially for beginners like us. I do not know if you have a regular teacher or if you took a few lessons. Even though you are off-shore, you probably have access to the Internet. You might want to consider taking skype lessons with a mic and a webcam. Tim Price and several other people offer lessons over skype. This way you will have more frequent access to a teacher.

Good Luck

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi "Getafix",

Thanks for your suggestion!