Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear all,

I am brand new to the forum. I am a double reed teacher who looks to pick up the alto saxophone. My motivation is to be proficient enough so that I can teach a class of mixed woodwinds. My playing will be strictly classical.

I am looking for an alto, as most of the solo classical works were written for it. I won't be playing the alto much, so I am not going to spend a lot on a top model. Would a vintage instrument be the best bang for the buck?

I have read nice things about the Couesnon Monopole here. Some posters have commented the Couesnon Monopole has a very nice but smaller sound. For me personally, an instrument with a smaller sound would be ideal, as I live in Hong Kong, which is VERY densely populated. I would rather not bother my neighbours that much when I practise at home. Would the Couesnon Monopole be ideal for me?

Thanks a lot in advance for your suggestions!

Sorry I forgot to mention: I am planning on taking (and passing) a diploma exam (ATCL or LTCL) to prove that I have reached a certain proficiency. I will need to play classical works like the Françaix Danses Exotiques, the Maurice Tableaux de Provence or the Milhaud Scaramouche.

Just in case this changes the equation ...

·
SOTW Columnist and Forum Contributor 2015-2016
3,898 Posts
Just pick up a solid YAS-23. It will do what you need to do and be reliable and won't cost much. The only caveat is that many of the solo classical works include High F# and having a High F# key is enormously convenient for these particular works. Most of your student horns and cheap vintage altos won't include this key.

- Saxaholic

·
Banned
2,967 Posts
+1.....also the vito models(made in JAPAN) can be a stencil of this saxophone....they are a bit cheaper....
good horns....
don't buy the couesnon....

cheers,philip