Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Sorry I have just discovered this post Adrian. I enjoyed your composition and like the piano part being written out, rather than chord symbols. It gave the piano part a certain quality and variety, which it would not have had if the part had being realised from chord symbols.
The only comment I would make is maybe you should look into bar 83. There is a prominent F# in the treble, and then another in the bass on the 3rd beat. This for me causes several problems: the F# (leading note) is given too much emphasis and it clashes with the G in the treble. The fact that it falls a 7th to the low G is not a problem in itself but it adds to the slight awkwardness of that bar.

Well done! and it would be good to hear it on real instruments.

·
Registered
482 Posts
I've come a bit late to this thread, but I love your composition and felt that my comments may be of interest. I should say though that I'm a self-taught amateur musician, so no expert comments from me, but I play tenor in a concert band and I have my own sax quartet for which I do a bit of arranging, so I have a pretty good understanding of what 'works' musically and my ear's pretty true as well.

I loved your composition and I've listened to it several times. First of all it's a very 'listenable' piece. I had no problem listening to it several times one after another, and I'm quite sure that an audience would find it a nice piece to listen to as well. I can just see this piece being played in the corner of a posh hotel's lounge while the guests sip their cocktails. Adjectives are always hard o find to describe music, but personally I find it a nice warm, comforting melody.