Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
1,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a trad jazz duo with trumpet and banjo ( I play banjo in this group) and we sometimes add a trombone. I've been working with this duo for about a year and the damn thing has gotten very popular. A few months ago we started getting steady gigs like every Sunday on a river boat and and every Friday at one brewery and every Thursday at another, plus a lot one shot gigs. I find most of the jobs because I've had a lot of experience doing this. I had just about clinched a steady Saturday morning gig which is a time slot that is great to fill. So what's the problem? My partner has missed two gigs in just about as many months. He just doesn't show up. This has just about ripped the cr*p out of the delicate fabric of steady gigs that I have worked hard to set up. The 2nd missed gig ruined the Saturday morning gig that I thought was just about in the bag. I won't go into his excuses which i consider BS anyway.

The first time this happened, I read him the riot act. It cost me time and money and we came close to losing the steady gig. I told him that he gets one free pass, but don't do it again. This more recent absence, I told him he's has to go talk to the restaurant owner , apologize, and get the gig back or I was done. (I mean I can go play sax with backing tracks.) Any thoughts on this? I'm giving up a hell of time and money if I dump the duo, but this has been hard on me. There is nothing more embarrassing than sitting at a gig waiting for the other guy to show up.

·
Registered
337 Posts
Failing to show up & not providing a sub is near inexcusable. Get busy on replacing them as quickly as possible. It takes long & hard work to develop a good reputation, however it can be destroyed far too easily. Steady gigs are rare & too many groups competing for the slots.... dump this guy

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
7,600 Posts