Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,885 Posts

·
Registered
1,580 Posts
I play one and it’s a very good horn. Very good intonation and for me a rich, warm dark tone with my setup. Rich Maraday has a clip or two where he gets a brighter sound than me.

I’m not a pro but I’m progressing.

Here’s https://soundcloud.com/john-kotches/sotw-totm-2018-06-miss-jones-tenor-first-take a quick take of Have You Met Miss Jones.

Feel free to contact me if you’d like.

Thanks,

·
Registered
25 Posts
I play one and it’s a very good horn. Very good intonation and for me a rich, warm dark tone with my setup. Rich Maraday has a clip or two where he gets a brighter sound than me.

I’m not a pro but I’m progressing.

Here’s https://soundcloud.com/john-kotches/sotw-totm-2018-06-miss-jones-tenor-first-take a quick take of Have You Met Miss Jones.

Feel free to contact me if you’d like.

Thanks,
I play next to this guy in a swing band, thank god he finally found something that plays in tune! Just kidding, John makes any horn sound good, especially the Orches, bonus points for it looking cool too!

·
Banned
58 Posts
It may not be a Taiwan horn. It could be parts from Vietnam or China. There are a few others with bows and bell rims like that one that are from China. They are considered Mark VI copies.

·
Registered
8,034 Posts
That neck is definitely Chinese. The arch of the key looks like it belongs over St. Louis. No guide on the key is like the ones you see on eBay.

·
Registered
483 Posts
Hello all,

through a third party, John was kind enough to let me try his Ochres tenor. John's Ochres N5VX is modified in that it has a high F#. For comparison, I brought my Grassi Model 2000. I played on both with my Bari Infinity HR mouthpiece (my new favorite tenor mouthpiece).