Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
4,290 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
12,907 Posts
Im not an expert but it certainly doesnt look like a buffer has been near this horn.

Its in pretty amazing shape but some folks take care of their stuff.

·
Administrator Emeritus
17,497 Posts
It also looks original to me Heiner.

Those are great horns (I have a 1953 SBA tenor 506xx, but without lacquer and by far not looking as nice as this one).

·
Registered
579 Posts
Nice. I'd snap it up.

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yes, folks, that's the way it goes. The owner just told me casually in a mail he had the engraving done in one of the best German repair shops in the past. Now if the engraving was done after-market, what about the lacquer? I put his offer down, because the price of the horn does definitely not justify accepting a non-original engraving.
Thanks for all your help. Funny how things work out sometimes.

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I usually don't like debating prices in forums, but this time....He asked 9500 EUR and was ready to accept 8500 EUR (about 10500 USD).

·
Registered
1,313 Posts
Need more pics to be sure, engraving did look newish but it doesn't seem re-engraved. Maybe Euro horn? Picture of the female end of tenon, and grid thing on neck would help, as would serial number stamping.

·
Registered
649 Posts
I was going to say possible factory relacquer because of the lacquer color, but it can be hard to tell in a picture -- but when a horn looks that good, I'm not quite sure if that really makes that much of a difference.

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
I guess it doesn't matter sonically, but in that case it must be made public from the start and of course the price of an original lacquer horn is different, or isn't it?

·
Registered
649 Posts