Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am soon to become the owner of a 1953 King Zephyr Baritone Saxophone (which unfortunately will arrive without a mouthpiece). I would love to hear from other King Zephyr Baritone players about what mouthpiece they use. I play in a RocknRoll band specializing in 1950's music.
I normally play a Yamaha 62 tenor with a Yamaha 7CM mouthpeice, so I am new to the world of the Baritone Sax. I am keen to use the Baritone on a few songs, and also featuring on some ballads which we will do as instrumentals.
Any suggestions and comments from other King Zephyr Baritone players would be most welcome.

·
Distinguished Member, Forum Contributor 2008
3,872 Posts
Old white Brilhart! Very 50s R&R, and should tune nicely on that horn.

·
Registered
2,691 Posts
I have a '41 Zephyr and it plays nicely with a Berg 110-0 but I personally have gone off the "super bright" tone of the Bullet baffle and I also have developed a distaste for metal mouthpieces (just the feel of metal in my mouth).

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,182 Posts
rubber berg or metal otto link. i played a LOT of 50,s bari on a metal link on a king super20 and even moved up to a dukoff but that was overkill

·
Registered
432 Posts

If this is anything as good as his other mouthpieces (sop, alto and Tenor) it's a steal.

·
Registered
359 Posts
My late 70's/early 80's Zeph plays great with Otto Link STM, but for what I imagine to be 50's R&R sound I might look elsewhere, I think this might be too dark a setup perhaps.

·
Registered
1,439 Posts
I'm super happy with the PPT signature and Rico Royal 3 reeds on my Zephyr Baritone. Good intonation (despite some palm keys, but that's a key opening issue), very versatile from Mulligan to R&R and reasonable priced for a Baritone piece..
Some audio tracks with pete playing his signature and his power (hooligan):
You can contact Pete Thomas here on SOTW or on his website.