Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I don't play the sax. I was helping with an estate sale and we found this sax tucked away in an attic cubbyhole. I took it to a horn shop to learn a little about it. That is where I got the year and the make of it. The shop owner said it was in great shape and a great find. He recommended this site to learn about this sax. Which forum would be the best for learning about this horn?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions and advice.

OK I am adding information about the horn that I was given that I did not realize was that important. I am new to this so I will find a way to add pictures.

It is an alto and has the original lacquer and pads. The serial number on the horn and on the neck piece (?) match. There was something special about the mouthpiece too. I will have to look at my notes. It was made in Paris. There are two long rods (sorry about lack of sax terms knowledge) in the front that are made from nickel. Engraving is in great shape. There are some very minor scratches and a couple of tiny dings on the horn, but was told buy the horn shop that it was in great shape despite those. It is in a case that he said was supposed to hold a flute and a clarinet too. The case is leather. The zipper works but is missing the zipper pulls and the clarinet part, apparently they took out the innards so they could have more room. It has pretty purple velvet inside. When I get home, I will look at my notes and see if I missed anything.

I want enough information about it so that I can go looking for someone who will love it and treasure it. I am in a small town in West Texas and I don't know anyone who would be interested in it. Surely someone in Dallas or a bigger place like that would like it. I just have to know what I am talking about first. :)

·
Registered
1,246 Posts
Hi,
Advice will come thick and fast.