Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 65-year-old university professor in the humanities, close to retirement, on sabbatical, and a month and a half into alto saxophone lessons. I am very committed to the horn and am making good progress. (I had coronary artery bypass surgery in September, almost died, and nothing has been the same since.) I practice at least an hour a day, my teacher is impressed by my rapid progress, and he has begun to talk with me about moving past my student horn to a professional model. He is recommending an Oleg or a Yamaha YAS 82Z. Here's the thing: I have found a 1946 King Super 20 alto horn (serial number c. 285000) in wonderful condition. My heart desires the Super 20, but a new horn may be better for me as a pretty quickly progressing beginner.

I'd appreciate any advice any of y'all could give.

Registered
The Super 20 is an awesome horn! 2 of my 5 saxes are Super 20's and I love them. They have great ergonomics too, not too far from a modern horn. If that's where your heart is, I definetly recommend you stick with that. Have it well adjusted by a competent tech and I don't think you will be missing anything compared to a modern horn, quite the opposite.

Read about the ergonomic improvements that were made to the Super 20 over the years on saxpics.com I personally prefer the series IV but most people swear by the earlier series.

Glad to hear of your passion (I can totally relate) and good luck in your recovery.

Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
At your age, play what you want.

Forum Contributor 2008-2016
I'm 67 and don't play anything else anymore than my S20 (albeit a tenor). Fantastic beast. Simply be assured that everething is correctly adjusted by a competent technician, e.g. the octave mechanism.
J

Registered