Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Serial No. 26495 I'm a serious pro player this was my Dad's horn. I have no idea what the value is so I'm open to suggestions. Cosmetically it's is very good condition the lacquer looks like new - (could be) My Dad lived in Las Vegas and I was given the horn - and it's been sitting.

The question is: Who could evaluate a horn like this? I'm looking for a quick sale if I offer it so I'm thinking this could be the "prime ax" for a serious player - cause I don't know what or if it needs to be set-up.

I play an SX90 and my current T55 mouthpiece isn't a good match for this horn - or my playing style.. So I can't honestly tell you what the playing condition is cause my ken of reference is too different... I don't have the time or desire to make the necessary playing adjustments etc., That's why I think this needs to be in the hands of a serious player-tech who can understand what it is and knows how to get the best...

Any thoughts?

-Bob

·
Registered
74 Posts
As a rough guideline, if it is relacquered but otherwise straight and in good mechanical shape, 5k is in the ballpark. Maybe twice that to a collector if 100% original and with the case. I would strongly expect "like new" lacquer on a well-used horn to be a relacquer.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2013
1,757 Posts
doh, Whaler I didn't see it! But the Poster should read the rules for selling stuff here too ....

·
Registered
8,025 Posts
Keep the horn. Tastes change and unless you need money you shouldn't sell your dad's horn. The horn flippers around here would try to get it from you cheap and sell high.
It is a good vintage Selmer. Unless its been run over by a truck it more than likely play well with a little TLC. Try to find someone local to look at it or get a leak light and take a look yourself. You hear too many stories about high priced overhauls hear that seem like unreasonable prices to me.

·