Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
IMG_4623.JPG IMG_4606.JPG IMG_4607.JPG IMG_4608.JPG IMG_4609.JPG IMG_4610.JPG IMG_4611.JPG IMG_4612.JPG

Hi:

New to the forum. I've been playing tenor for about 2 years. In my 50s so a later-in-life pursuit. I've become at least as interested in the horns themselves. Bought this at a pawn shop for a trade of 3 low-end guitars I had hanging around plus $100. Believed I had bought a 1938 Martin Baritone but now am not sure. Looking online, by 1938 Martin seems to have moved away from the split-bell toneholes on the baritones. Serial number lettering/font looks different yo (127,XXX). It plays up and down with the exception that the octave lever on the neck is broken. Will need to have that fixed, plus pads and adjustments. But I figure the case is probably worth what I paid.

So you Martinophiles out there -- did I buy what I think I did? Is this something that may have been made with excess parts inventory? Have I bought a Frankenhorn. Or maybe I've been duped altogether? Would appreciate your opinions. Will post a second note with more photos. Thanks,

Steve

·
Registered
6,198 Posts
That's no 1938 Martin.

Looks like drawn tone holes, and even if they're soldered, Martins always have a bevel or chamfer at the top. The round D# palm key, and the pearl G#, are anachronistic to 1938. Keyed only to high Eb, which would have been obsolete around 1925 or so.

I think what you've got there is a Buescher True Tone engraved by contract for Martin. Check the Buescher serial number charts, and I bet it'll give you a date of around 1924 or so.

It will probably play beautifully if in good adjustment; you'll want to use a fairly large chamber mouthpiece on it (Meyer, Link style should work well); the only issue I would have with using it as a main instrument is being keyed only to Eb.