Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this forum and are looking for Martin experts help as well. I have a 1929 Martin Handcraft tenor (92205) and would like information about it. I need to figure out whether or not to overhaul it. It plays pretty well with that deep Martin sound but seems to have a few leaks. I am not a professional but am having trouble hitting high notes. The horn has etching all the way down the bell, which is a shinier gold than the matte gold finish around it. There seems to be silver shining through in spots. The horn is missing its original neck but the LA Sax neck fits perfectly and has not been an issue. I play with an Arnold Brillhart metal mouthpiece. Does anyone know anything about this model? Is it worth spending a few hundred bucks to overhaul it?

·
Registered
1,465 Posts
There is a website called "The Martin Story" that is all about the various Martin saxophone models. You should check that out as it is very informative.

Are you sure it needs a full overhaul. It maybe just needs a few pads replaced or some adjusting for significantly less than the cost of an overhaul. The trouble you describe (hitting the high notes) isn't normally indicative of pad problems, assuming you are not having trouble with the low notes as well.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,036 Posts
These are the best of the handcrafts as they have the front F and usually the high C# adjuster. Since it is gold plate, it may be worth repairing. Photos?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,952 Posts
There is a website called "The Martin Story" that is all about the various Martin saxophone models. You should check that out as it is very informative.