View Full Version : Any ideas anyone?
pease-pudding
08-08-2006, 08:45 PM
The following has been listed on ebay as an unmarked c melody:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260018073328
I ve asked some questions and will hopefully receive a response but looks more like an alto to me. Any ideas?
SAXISMYAXE
08-08-2006, 10:33 PM
No doubt about it Pease-Pudding, that is indeed an Eb Alto horn.
stitch
08-08-2006, 10:49 PM
I'm more of the opinion that it's one of those POS Indian excuses for a saxophone. I've emailed the seller to that effect (in rather more polite terms), so it'll be interesting to see how it pans out ...
SAXISMYAXE
08-09-2006, 01:45 AM
Stitch,
I think you are correct. Even though the pictures leave a lot to be desired (I'd be hard pressed to purchase ANY horn utilizing horrible photos such as those as my main means of identification), it's still possible to see the resemblance to those junk horns with the poorly formed bell, novelty type key work, as well as the A. Sax copy key guards they seem to favor reproducing with these.
Run, don't walk, from this.
Grumps
08-09-2006, 05:06 AM
Generally speaking, on Ebay, one tone hole on the bell = Indian POS model.
Dave dix
08-09-2006, 06:25 AM
I cant believe the seller thinks its 70 years old, unless he got caught also, its Indian
Dave
bruce bailey
08-09-2006, 06:56 AM
I think the scam is 70 years old. Yes, an Indian junker.
pease-pudding
08-09-2006, 07:01 AM
Thank you all, I knew it reminded me of a sax I'd seen recently but my somewhat sluggish faculties needed a kick-start - http://www.cybersax.com/QA/Q&A_Fake_ASax.html
uncanny resemblance?
Paul
Grumps
08-09-2006, 04:44 PM
Yeah, they sometimes try to pass them off as original Adolph Sax horns.
pease-pudding
08-10-2006, 02:41 PM
Well the seller has ended the auction early due to an innaccurate description, so seemingly on the level, which would certainly be indicated by his feedback.
vBulletin® v3.6.9, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.