View Full Version : sweet bass on eBay
woodwindNYC
07-01-2006, 06:19 PM
Someone is going to be a lucky, lucky, lucky SOB.
*green*
http://cgi.ebay.com/SAXOPHONE-BASS-SELMER-MARK6_W0QQitemZ110003505202QQihZ001QQcategoryZ1623 3QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
GAS_Wyo
07-01-2006, 07:18 PM
I just bid it up to $5000...do I have any chance?
GAS_Wyo
07-01-2006, 07:18 PM
PS...Thanks woodwindNYC ! :D
woodwindNYC
07-01-2006, 07:49 PM
I'd say you have as good a chance as any! :)
You're welcome...I thought it was odd that nobody had said anything about it on the board. Glad I brought it up!
(Is it just me, or does the ad seem like it was written by a caveman?)
altosaxguy1
07-01-2006, 08:33 PM
$5100 now
ejennings
07-01-2006, 08:39 PM
Beware, the seller has no feedback and established the Ebay account the same day the horn was listed. While it might be legit, that's an awfully big ticket item to offer for a first sale. Were I to think about bidding on this, I'd insist on being able to contact the seller directly and establish some confidence that this is for real.
Saxhound
07-01-2006, 09:27 PM
Not sure if this the same horn, but it sure sounds like it. Double beware!
http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=42047
tjontheroad
07-01-2006, 11:06 PM
Not sure if this the same horn, but it sure sounds like it. Double beware!
http://www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=42047
Hmmm... Be afraid, very afraid! Bad english, 3 day auction and no sn#.
Who ever really owns it is one lucky SOB ;)
Maybe you should ask him a question like,"does it come with the optional sub-octave altissimo key"? I bet the answer will be oh yes!
Kritavi
07-01-2006, 11:30 PM
About as obvious as a scam auction can be. Pidgin english and bass saxophones don't mix as a rule.
saxymanzach
07-01-2006, 11:52 PM
That sounds to similar to the Bass sax scam reported here, don't do it!
Bootman
07-01-2006, 11:55 PM
The other beware is that it is a Selmer Bass and these basses just dont rumble or play as they should. Save your money and buy an old Conn or Buescher. Or go the whole hog and buy an Eppelsheim.
saxtek
07-02-2006, 02:05 AM
Previous owners of this horn posting on Bass_Sax_Coop say that this auction is a fraud.
GAS_Wyo
07-02-2006, 02:48 AM
:( Now I feel bad for bidding this thing up $2600...:( :x :( :cry:
OK, now I want to warn swamp-music. Is this ethical...what's the concensus on this site?
GAS_Wyo
07-02-2006, 05:48 AM
Sorry, I couldn't wait for an answer. I retracted my bids and wrote to the next lowest bidder with a warning. Then, when I reviewed the bid history again an hour later, I discovered that another bidder had retracted their bid. It was ebay member el.fantuche. Is this person a member on SOTW?
When I retracted my bid, I was warned that I had a chance of being suspended from ebay, but I can't take the chance of losing $5K. This is a mess! You have heard the phrase "Once bitten, twice shy". Well, I've been bitten on ebay for the last time! :twisted:
woodwindNYC
07-02-2006, 05:58 AM
Sorry, guys...I should have figured it out sooner. I suppose I temporarily forgot what they say about "If it's too good to be true..."
You won't get suspended for retracting on a fraudulent auction, GAS, don't worry...what you should do is report the auction to eBay, though. If enough people do it, they'll pull it and you'll be fine...
Bast'ids!! (And just when I was about to start figuring out how long I could go without paying rent and bid on it myself...dammit.):x
saxymanzach
07-02-2006, 06:40 AM
When I retracted my bid, I was warned that I had a chance of being suspended from ebay...
You're better off being suspended...8-)
GAS_Wyo
07-02-2006, 07:15 AM
Zach,
I think you're right...it'll keep my wife happier too!
Dave dix
07-02-2006, 08:51 AM
Listing cancelled. I just bought a viola bass and before it arrived it was up for sale in China!!!
Dave
GAS_Wyo
07-03-2006, 05:53 AM
I did get my message back from el.fantuche...He is marchingbear here on SOTW. He retracted also.
Thanks to ejennings, SaxHound, TJ, and the rest.! This is one of the many reasons this site is so wonderful.
vBulletin® v3.6.9, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.