PDA

View Full Version : SOTW Advertisers - strange e-mail


Harri Rautiainen
03-09-2006, 02:12 PM
I received following in e-mail:

Your "FREE" Jupiter saxophone is a common scam like offer that rates right up there with a Nigerian email looking for a bank account to park millions of dollars in if you just help them. Sax on the web is most certainly sinking to a low level. Quite a shame because it is such a good concept.
Good luck with your scam free stuff
A saxophone player

Has anyone got anything more on this?
"A saxophone player" did not reply, yet.

The "official" SOTW sponsors are David Kessler on the Forum pages, and Yamaha and Springer Mouthpieces (http://www.springermpc.com/) on the SOTW main page. David Kessler and Patrick Springer are reputable members of this forum.

If you come across of any "FREE saxophone" e-mail seemingly originating for saxontheweb.net, please forward it to me.

Jolle
03-09-2006, 02:26 PM
I found on an old website of saxology.net (in Google-cache, can't find it on the current website any more) following advertisement :


Free Tenor Saxophone
We'll Ship You A Jupiter Saxophone Free! Complete Our Survey Now.
Saxophone.OnlineRewardCenter.com


I followed the link to
http://www.onlinerewardcenter.com/rd_p?p=113082&t=636&gift=1654&a=1654-tenor%20sax

There you see something about a free Jupiter sax. How this links to SOTW, I don't have a clue. Maybe they advertised here as well?

greetzz

Harri Rautiainen
03-09-2006, 02:31 PM
Thanks Jolle,

I carry Google ads on some pages. If this site participates their (small text) ad will show up on some SOTW pages.
I will disable that site. Luckily there is an option like that.

Harri Rautiainen
03-09-2006, 02:42 PM
I found on an old website of saxology.net (in Google-cache, can't find it on the current website any more) following advertisement :.......
The Ping-host saxology.net is ad.funnel.revenuedirect.com.akadns.net

That figures,

Scott Ramminger
03-09-2006, 02:59 PM
Harri,

I am pretty sure I saw one of the these ads on a Sax on the Web Page. I remember thinking -- "Wow. That sounds like a scam, but if these guys have it on there, maybe it is legit." I did not pursue it. It must have been one of the Google things you mentioned.

Hey, nice site, by the way. I have just picked the sax back up after a number of years and have really been enjoying it.

Scott Ramminger

jmartin
03-09-2006, 04:43 PM
it's a google ad. I've found it on several sites.

Gandalfe
03-10-2006, 01:05 AM
I saw this advertised on SOTW logged on using a new e-mail account that I have now discarded. I followed the survey almost all the way through. It is totally a scam. Even if you did everything asked and bought everything offered, you don't get a sax. It is sad that it showed up on SOTW.

Harri Rautiainen
03-10-2006, 08:43 AM
........
It is sad that it showed up on SOTW.That site is now disabled. When Google is using some kind of geographic distribution, I do not necessarily see U.S. only ads.
That is why appreciate early alerts on scams and such.

jmartin
03-10-2006, 12:26 PM
I didn't know it was a scam. Just seemed too good to be true. And things like that usually are.

Harri Rautiainen
03-10-2006, 01:20 PM
I didn't know it was a scam. Just seemed too good to be true. And things like that usually are.Maybe "scam" is a too strong word in this connection. That was what the original e-mail sender called it.